2010-2011 General Catalog 
    Mar 03, 2024  
2010-2011 General Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Communication Department

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Divisions and Departments

The Communication Department provides courses of instruction in the areas of Advertising, Broadcast Journalism, Foreign Language, Photojournalism, Print Journalism, Public Relations, Speech Communication, and Radio, Television and Film. The objectives and primary purposes of the department include: 1.) providing students who plan to major in one of the communication study areas a current curriculum that is transferable to a four-year university for completion of a baccalaureate degree; 2.) providing students majoring in other disciplines an opportunity to satisfy the communication course requirements for their degrees; and 3.) providing interested persons knowledge and application of various communication skills.

The Communication Department is committed to standards of excellence in instruction and fostering a learning environment conducive to the student’s pursuit of individual educational interest.

Departmental chairperson is John Sparks, professor of journalism.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Divisions and Departments